Happy Be Late For Something and Eat Cheese Pizza Day!

5 Sep

Since today happens to also coincide with a pretty well known holiday (Labor Day), I didn’t really have anything to be late for.  But since I’m generally late for everything every other day of the week, I decided I had it covered.  The other half of today’s holidays is National Cheese Pizza Day, which is perfect because I found an excellent score at Giant today.

It's not delivery, it's DiGiorno!

The TV has been taunting me with commercials for the DiGiorno pizza and cookies combo pack, but until now, I’ve only been able to find the other combo packs offered by DiGiorno.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not one to complain about cheesy breadsticks, but some warm Toll House cookies just really hit the spot sometimes.  Today was the day.  I finally found the DiGiorgo cheese  pizza with chocolate chip cookies combo pack, and it was by total coincidence that today also happens to be National Cheese Pizza Day! Double score!

Did you know that the concept of pizza actually originated in early Greece where round, flat breads were topped with olives, oils, potatoes, and a variety of other things.  It wasn’t until the 18th century when street vendors in Italy started selling plain flat breads coined “pizzas” .  They had nothing on them, but were really cheap to make while being tasty and filling, hence the idea caught on.  Considered peasant food, Queen Margherita caught wind of the tasty trend in 1889 and popularized the food for all classes.  No wonder Bertucci’s has immortalized her with the Margherita pizza (this is actually quite popular in other places too).  Pizza finally was introduced to the USA during World War II when American soldiers stationed in Italy tasted pizza for the first time!  War…the only thing it’s good for.

Anyhoo, even though it’s almost 10 pm my time, one thing I learned from grad school is that it’s NEVER too late for pizza.  So quick, before midnight, go get yourself some cheese pizza and celebrate National Cheese Pizza Day!

2 Responses to “Happy Be Late For Something and Eat Cheese Pizza Day!”

  1. neuronano September 5, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    I had pizza today but it wasn’t just cheese. Is that allowed?

    • runswithatoms September 5, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

      I guess I’ll allow it, but you might have to be really late for something to make up for it :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

